the end of something

0014Kelly’s leaving tomorrow. I called him, he didn’t answer. Then later on, he called me back. He said he was busy and couldn’t hang out, which is fine. I didn’t really expect him to anyway.

I asked him if things were better between him and his mom now, kind of awkwardly, because I asked him the same question, before, on Facebook, but he didn’t give me a real answer. He said yeah, things were pretty much back to normal. Fine, good… but I wondered if maybe he was just telling me that so I’d stop prying. I never got the story about the fight anyway, since we hadn’t been able to talk one-on-one when we were camping.

We talked some about getting ready for college and I said I couldn’t believe it was already here. I also mentioned how it would be a while before we saw each other again, and he laughed. “You’re talking like it’s the end of the world! We’ll still see each other on breaks.”

I laughed too. And told him “yeah, if you can survive living in the middle of a fucking cornfield.”

He said he would get by. We didn’t talk at all about Linda, I realized after I hung up the phone.

Yeah, it’s not the end of the world. But it’s the end of SOMETHING.

Like I said, Kelly and I have been best friends all through high school. We met when we were trying out for the football team as freshmen. When you get along with someone, like, when you have a connection on some deeper level, you just know, and somehow we knew, and during practices we were at each other’s side whenever we could be, and pretty soon we were hanging around each other all the time even outside practice.

By this point I feel like I know pretty much everything about Kelly. When he had hemorrhoids and jock itch, I knew about it. When he hooked up with a girl, I knew about it. I also told him when I did, but I embellished a little bit, and kind of left out the fact that I’d never actually gone all the way. When he had problems with his dad, he told me about them, and when something was going on between me and my parents, I told him. He told me about the things that got him excited and the things that made him angry.

But toward graduation and this summer things have been weird, like I’ve said a million times already. I’m starting to sound like a broken record, sorry guys.

Anyway, I guess people don’t stay “best friends forever.” So why should I be worried about the way things are going right now? It’s natural. Come on Travis this is the real world.

One thought on “the end of something

  1. jayinva

    Everyone who graduates high school and is preparing to leave for college feels like they’re swimming through molasses. Nothing is “normal”. This is a HUGE step in your lives, and yeah, it’s not going to be easy. It’s going to be exciting. It’s going to be frightening at times, but it sure won’t be easy.

    That being said, there’s no reason why you and Kelly can’t be friends going forward. You’ve certainly got no reason not to. There will be less time together, but the electronic ties we have will make it easier to stay in touch. Plus, there are breaks! And road trips, maybe. You’ll both be busy making new friends, too, there’s a whole university apiece for you each to come out of your shells (and maybe even the closet) and finish the process of becoming an adult! You’ve done well so far, Travis. Keep up the good work.

    Peace ❤
    Jay

    Reply

Leave a Reply

